top of page

Beginning my Search for Grad Schools

Hello all! This will be my last blog post before my Junior year is over, which is both exciting and also completely nerve-wracking. It is exciting because it means that my summer research can begin, yet I’m nervous because I am closer to grad school applications. I am anticipating the many opportunities that I have created for myself through my many internships and involvements. That being said, because I have been involved in so much, it is difficult to choose which path I would like to turn into a career.


There are two post-Undergrad options that I am currently looking at, both of which are completely across the country from one another. I wanted to use this blog post as an opportunity to discuss my top two choices as of now and explain my reasoning behind them.


Option #1: University of San Francisco-School of Education

The USFC School of Education is currently the only program in the United States that offers a Human Rights Education Master’s program. As summarized best from their website, “grounded in critical thinking and positive action, this program provides a rigorous human rights education in the classroom and community. You'll graduate prepared to tackle—and to teach about—inequities based on race, class, gender, sexual identity, religion, and nation.” This program highlights the many skills needed to create a wholistic environment of decolonized and equitable education within and beyond the classroom, which is something that would profoundly impact my skills working at a non-profit or in education, which are two of my priorities.


Option #2: The Victory Institute with the LGBT Equality Caucus

My second option is a bit less traditional option for post-Undergrad opportunities. I am interested in working with the LGBT Equality Caucus to work in Washington D.C. for an intensive leadership program that includes: 1} A year-long fellowship in the office of a co-chair of the LGBT Equality Caucus supporting the Executive Director of the LGBT Equality Caucus, and 2} An educational and leadership development program to learn about the legislative process and careers in policymaking. After this fellowship opportunity, I would then go onto working within non-profit work or policy work, focusing on queer and trans advocacy.



I am excited to meet with my McNair supervisors and discuss these options and weigh the pros and cons of each. I truly believe that both of these paths would be exemplary ways to focus my skills in advocacy and organizational work, and navigate a career doing something that I am passionate about.




bottom of page