top of page

The Summer of Connections and Opportunities

Since my last blog, I have been formulating a lot of moves, both literal and figurative. I turned twenty-one, moved into my first off-campus apartment, polished my LinkedIn, and am currently in pursuit of an incredible internship opportunity. The idea that I am setting myself up for success is an exciting one, and while I am grateful for my time at UW-Eau Claire, I am anticipatory of what is yet to come in my academic and professional journey. Eau Claire will always be my first home, I have lived here for the entirety of my life, yet Dr. Wonder recommended venturing out for a few years, even if that means I do eventually return home.


Being someone who has never lived more than ten minutes away from their mom, the idea of growth, particularly if I am accepted as an intern in Delaware, is definitely a frightening one. Yet, I must take new opportunities by the hand, and they will lead me to wherever I will be content and fulfilled. As someone who was raised with Indigenous values—I’m Lac Courte

Ojibwe band—and raised by a single parent, my mom is one of the most sacred people in my life, and I am excited to make her proud.


I also recently took a practice GRE and a StrengthsFinder test, and have a meeting scheduled to talk to Ms. Katy Rand about my results. I am thrilled by the amount of self-awareness and self-assuredness that I have, even compared to my first year at UW-Eau Claire. Even coming into my third year I found myself unsure of the career path that I was interested in. I now know that trans and queer healthcare, bill-making, and policy-work is the first of many academic and professional dreams that I foresee in my future. I know that I have the skills and academic background to propel myself into the right opportunities, regardless of my nerves. I recently emailed Senator Sarah McBride about an opportunity to intern with her, focusing on queer and trans healthcare, and am anticipating a response. For now, I will focus on my academic advancement, my research, and my wellbeing in my new apartment.


I am happy, I am self-assured, and I am working hard to set myself up for success in the present and in the future. More good things to come soon.

bottom of page